Josep Lluís Mateo, present digitally at the Quito Architecture Biennial 2020

Under the heading “Transformations”, the 22nd Quito Pan-American Architecture Biennial (BAQ 2020) takes place during the month of November, as it has every even-numbered year since 1978.

This time round, Josep Lluís Mateo is taking part with three interventions in the course of the two weeks that the event lasts: two discussion panels in which he will present the Remodelling of El Ninot Market in Barcelona (2015) and the 26 Housing Units in Amsterdam (2000), and a dual interview with Vinicius Andrade.

In each discussion panel, Mateo will present his project, which will then be analysed by students, an architect and a critic who will offer different viewpoints, followed by a debate between the architect and the other panellists. The aim is to analyse the transformative capacity of these projects for the environment and the city.

In keeping with this year’s theme, the Biennial has been reformulated in record time, transforming the original face-to-face event into an online experience with three focuses: the Biennial Competition (for works carried out in the American continent); academia (national and international presentations) and cultural activities.

Quito Architecture Biennial 2020
View all photos

Information about Josep Lluís Mateo’s participation at BAQ 2020:

Discussion panel:
Remodelling of El Ninot Market
Date: 11 November 2020
Time: 11:00–12:30 (UTC-5)
17:00–18:30 (GMT+1)

Interview with Josep Lluís Mateo + Vinicius Andrade
Date: 12 November 2020
Time: 11:00–12:30 (UTC-5)
17:00–18:30 (GMT+1)

Discussion panel:
26 Housing Units in Amsterdam
Date: 19 November 2020
Time: 09:00–10:30 (UTC-5)
15:00–16:30 (GMT+1)

Tags